Blogs / Life

Happy Thanksgiving Everyone!

Hello Everyone!

One of the awesome things about blogging is that I get to connect with people from all over the world! Something that did not occur to me when I was much younger was that not everyone celebrates Thanksgiving. While maybe not everyone celebrates, it’s still a good reminder to everyone anywhere to pause for a moment and give thanks.

America’s first Thanksgiving took place in October of 1621 and lasted for three whole days! (I can hardly imagine that as I am stuffed to the point of explosion after one day of feasting.) On November 16th, 1863, President Abraham Lincoln announced that the nation would celebrate an official Thanksgiving every year on November 26th.

Today, I celebrate Thanksgiving with my family. We have yearly traditions, like many other families, and these include: baking over 100 cookies, deep-frying a turkey, coming together as a large and loud family, and drawing names for Christmas’ secret Santa. However, my favorite tradition is when every member of my family states what they are most thankful that year at the feasting table.

This year, I am most thankful for my grandfather’s presence during the holiday seasons. Only a few months ago, he was diagnosed with an aggressive cancer that had rooted in a couple places in his body. Although he did radiation, the cancer spread and is pretty much throughout his entire body. While that is not something to be grateful for, I am still thankful that he is here with us today. Even if we are struggling, I am so dang grateful that I have another Thanksgiving with this amazing man who has taught me so much.

So today, I challenge you to leave a comment and answer this question:

What are you thankful for today?

Regardless of our circumstances, we can always find something to be thankful for. I pray that you all have a wonderful day and take some time to reflect on your own gratitude.

Image result for happy thanksgiving

37 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving Everyone!”

      1. It was nice and quiet, KaylaAnn. We hung out at home and got out our Christmas decorations. We thought about shopping on Black Friday but the weather was cold and rainy so we nixed the idea. I do most of my shopping online and have already bought presents for my hubby. There are only the two of us so not much to buy for. I’ve noticed blog land is pretty quiet so I’m taking the time to clean up my blogs. Have a great weekend!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I feel like we’re all struggling to balance blogs and personal life, at least, I am! Online shopping can be nice. I have a tradition to go Black Friday shopping with my mother and grandmother though so even though we hate the crowds we enjoy the day together.

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment