The Virtue of Wanting & Waiting


Is far different than

Not Wanting


Is partial, temporarily chosen



For blush, blue bouquets

Cracked oak wine barrels

Yards of lingering lace

Blue skies with slight breeze

A veil that flutters beneath

a Diamond-encrusted tiara

That is discarded at night

Once the waiting is over


Is far different than

Not Wanting.


The Seven Virtues were created to combat each of the Seven Deadly Sins. These Seven Virtues first appeared tied together in an epic poem titled Pschomachia, written by Aurelius Clemens Prudentius, a Christian governor of the 400s AD. To battle Lust, there is Chastity.

Image result for chastity historical art v

Chastity is the state or practice of refraining from extramarital, or from all, sexual intercourse. In this poem, I really wanted to focus on the point that chastity is not necessary having no sexual desires, but it is all about choosing not to act on them.

Happy Writing Everyone!

***Please be aware that I am currently reposting past blog posts as I am gone on my Honeymoon (woohoo!) and will be unable to read, approve, like, or respond to any comments until I return in late June! I look forward to seeing you all again soon!***


© KaylaAnn and KaylaAnnAuthor.wordpress.com, 2018. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to KaylaAnn and KaylaAnnAuthor.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

3 thoughts on “The Virtue of Wanting & Waiting”

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s